The AICTE under the aegis of Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD), Govt. of India and in collaboration with four other organizations had conducted a National level competition called “Smart India Hackathon 2017”. For the first time, 29 different Ministries of Govt. of India and departments posed 598 problem statements to 30 lakhs technical students of India. The grand finale was held on April 1st and 2nd 2017 continuously for 36 hours. The MHRD finally shortlisted 8 teams and selected five teams. 

A team of Sri Manakula Vinayagar Engineering College consisting of Selvi. Ashwini.M, Selvi. Subhasri.A, Selvi. Leenashi.S, Shri. Praveen.G, Shri. Anand.I, Shri. Kavi Chakravarthi.R, all from the III B.Tech. Information Technology is one among the five teams which won the inspiration award with a cash prize of Rs. 10000/-from the Chairman, AICTE, New Delhi.